« Back

Con Gioia Early Music Ensemble

C. P. E. Bach Commemorative Concert III: Music for Connoisseurs and Amateurs

Solos for fortepiano from Six Collections of Keyboard Sonatas, Free Fantasias, and Rondos for Connoisseurs and Amateurs, Wq 55/6; Wq. 59/5 and 61/1
Adagio ma non troppo from Sonata in C minor for violin and obbligato fortepiano, Wq. 78
Trios in F major, Wq. 91/3 and C major, Wq. 90/3, for fortepiano, violin, and violoncello
Clavier-Fantasie, “C.P.E. Bach’s Sentiments,” for fortepiano and violin, Wq. 79.
Church of the Angels ·

Con Gioia, directed by Preethi de Silva, acclaimed expert on the performance of the keyboard music of C. P. E. Bach, will continue the ensemble’s commemoration of C. P. E. Bach’s 300th birthday. Following two concerts last season, including a truly memorable birthday concert on March 8, 2014, two more programs of chamber music and solo keyboard and orchestral works by the composer will be offered during the 2014-2015 concert season. The third concert will be on Sunday October 12 at 4 p.m.


Con Gioia Early Music Ensemble
Andrew McIntosh (baroque violin)
Roger Lebow (baroque cello)
Preethi de Silva (fortepiano/director)


Instrumental music