« Back

Con Gioia Early Music Ensemble

Commemorating the 300th Birthday of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

Sonata in C minor for two violins and b.c. (Sanguineus und Melancholicus), H. 579/Wq. 161/1 (A musical dialogue with an unfolding drama) (1751)
Concerto in D minor for harpsichord and strings, H. 427/Wq. 23 (1748)
Concerto in G major for flute and strings, H. 445/Wq. 169 (ca. 1755)
Quartet for fortepiano, flute, viola and cello, H. 538/Wq. 94 (1788)
Thayer Hall, Colburn School of Music ·
Los Angeles

Con Gioia, directed by Preethi de Silva, acclaimed expert on the performance of the keyboard music of C.P.E. Bach, is devoting the two seasons to concerts of chamber music and solo keyboard and orchestral works by the composer to commemorate his 300th birthday on March 8th 2014. The second concert on Bach’s birthday will be at 4:00 p.m. at Thayer Hall, at The Colburn School of Music, 200 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90012.

Born in Weimar, Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach was the second son of J. S. Bach and his wife Maria Barbara and more famous than his father and considered “an original genius” in the late eighteenth century. He served at the court of Frederic the Great in Berlin and Potsdam for almost twenty years before accepting an appointment of director of music of the five main protestant churches and cantor at the Johanneum in Hamburg, as the successor to Georg Philipp Telemann (his godfather).

Concert II: Music for Berlin and Hamburg, again will feature artists performing on period instruments, including a German-style harpsichord with exquisite chinoiserie and an eighteenth-century Viennese-style fortepiano. The Concerto for Flute in G major, Wq. 169 will feature renowned flautist Stephen Schultz and the Concerto for Harpsichord in D minor, Wq. 23, Preethi de Silva, who also will perform other works on the fortepiano. The program also includes the Trio Sonata in C minor (Sanguineus und Melancholicus) for violins and basso continuo, Wq. 161/1 and the Fortepiano Quartet in D Major, Wq. 94. The other participating artists include, Janet Worsley Strauss and Andrew McIntosh (baroque violins); Suzanna Giordano-Gignac (baroque viola); Leif Woodward (baroque cello); and Gabriel Golden (violone) and Preethi de Silva (fortepiano).


Stephen Schultz (transverse flute)
Janet Worsley Strauss and Andrew McIntosh (baroque violins)
Suzanna Giordano-Gignac (baroque viola)
Leif Woodward (baroque cello)
Gabriel Golden (violone)
Preethi de Silva (harpsichord and fortepiano) | director


Instrumental music
Orchestra music
Chamber music